top of page

Here it is!


Introducing my new site! Summer has worked very hard on it, and we're ready for the big reveal!

I figured with the reveal of the new site I'd share three pictures from China that seem a lifetime away.

First of all, these were taken by my sweet friend, Stefanie. If you've been around the adoption block long, you know her as Ni Hao Y'all! She's an amazing mama of many, a rock star photographer, an outspoken advocate for the orphan, and a die hard lover of Jesus!

Stefanie and I have been online friends for over eight years. We've participated in several online Bible studies together, and over two years ago we became prayer partners. Even though we speak to each other on the phone every week, we had never met...until May 2016!

God was so good to align our adoption journeys so that we would be in China the exact same dates! Seriously?!? We were beside ourselves giddy at the thought of finally meeting and spending precious time together.

Second, things have changed drastically since these were taken. For two weeks in China, Kaison wanted little to nothing to do with Mama. He was Baba's boy all the way. His daddy carried him everywhere! He wanted nothing to do with a stroller. It was Daddy's arms or nothing. He fell asleep on Daddy's chest and expected to see Daddy when he awoke.

Within two days of arriving home, things changed. I might have been super intentional about meeting his every need, like when he saw the dog and shrieked in fear or bumped his head and cried like it was the end of the world. Yes, I might have rushed to pick him up and hold him tightly.

Anyway, he fell for me! And I'm all about that! He still loves his daddy and shrieks when he comes home from work, but I'm the one he spends every waking hour with. And every sleeping hour, for that matter, since we're co-sleeping. I'm the one he calls for. I'm the one he spontaneously kisses. I'm the one he clings to when he's sad or scared or tired. And I'm oh-so-okay with that!

But I absolutely love these pictures! They represent two weeks of grieving, changing, bonding, trusting. Even though it was tiring for my man to be the "mommy" for two weeks, he did it with gusto. He's just that kinda guy. He loves fiercely.

There's one more picture I'd like to share with you. It's of two gals who are a bit camera shy and would rather post pictures of their kiddos...

In all the time we spent together in Guangzhou, we finally stopped for a photo opp. This picture means so much to me. Two gals whose paths crossed because of adoption. We have so much in common, but most of all that we want desperately to follow Jesus, wherever He leads, whatever He asks. Love you, sister!

Photo credits: Stefanie Leist

Featured Posts
Recent Posts
Search By Tags
No tags yet.
Follow Us
  • Facebook Classic
  • Twitter Classic
  • Google Classic
bottom of page